ETC Announces New Chairmanship For Canada

Caroline Booth, Open Jaw

Dana Welch and Antje Splettstoesser

The European Travel Commission has announced the appointment of Dana Welch, Manager for Canada at Tourism Ireland, and Antje Splettstoesser, Director of the German National Tourist Office, as the new Chair and Vice-Chair respectively of ETC’s Canada chapter.

Together Welch and Splettstoesser will streamline the activities of the ETC in Canada, which has a mandate to aid in the promotion of European destinations. Duties including identifying opportunities for cooperative marketing, providing access to market intelligence, and encouraging the relationship between the Canadian and the European travel and tourism industry. 

Welch, who previously held the role of Vice-Chair, has been responsible for leading Tourism Ireland’s marketing operations in the Canadian market since 2014. She takes over from Laura Pena, Director of the Spain Tourist Office, who held the position for the past three years. 

“I am delighted to be appointed as Chair of the European Travel Commission and excited about the opportunity to lead strategy and drive promotional activities. It is a great honour and privilege to work together with the ETC Brussels team and member countries here in Canada to promote European destinations,” said Welch. 

As Director of the German National Tourist Office, Antje Splettstoesser is responsible for raising the brand awareness of Destination Germany in Canada. She joined the GNTO in 2014 after 8 years of working both in Germany and Canada as a marketing professional. 

“I am very excited and honoured to be part of the strategic team leading the marketing activities for the ETC in Canada. Europe has huge appeal for all Canadians though Canadians have yet to make their mark on all Europe has to offer. There is still some incredible, untapped potential to encourage the Canadian trade and travelers to explore more of Europe, more often and in more ways than ever before,” said Splettstoesser.

Leave a Comment...

(will not be published)