ACTA Announces 2019 ACTA / Air Canada Awards

Bruce Parkinson, Open Jaw

ACTA has announced the opening of nominations for the ACTA Air Canada Awards, created to showcase the best in the Canadian retail travel industry. 

The organization says the awards will be given to those who have proven their excellence across a broad range of categories and recipients will be selected by a panel of jurors appointed by ACTA. The ACTA Air Canada Awards will be given out to the recipients in a ceremony held at Travel MarketPlace in Toronto on 12JUN.

The six ACTA Air Canada Awards were created to illustrate the successes of ACTA member agencies and the passionate travel agents who assist in the creation of those successes. The six categories are:

(1) Leisure Travel Agent - Recognizes a travel agent who shows versatility, innovation and has extensive knowledge of many travel options available to their clients. This individual has exemplary customer service skills, the ability to keep the client excited about planning their dream holiday, and always delivers.

(2) Corporate Travel Agent - Recognizes a travel agent who delivers excellent service to clients, living up to expectations and demands in a timely and efficient manner. This individual must have an excellent understanding of client's needs from a global perspective, including transportation, destination knowledge, policies, visas, and many other travel requirements.

(3) Tomorrow’s Leader - Recognizes a young professional who shows potential as a leader of the industry. The individual will have a keen interest in issues that influence the future of travel and is a role model for other young professionals.

(4) Maguire-Wamsley Award - Recognizes the individual who achieves the highest combined mark on the ACTA Certified Travel Manager (CTM) exam and case studies, who also works in an ACTA member agency.

(5) Ches Chard Award - This award was established in memory of Ches Chard. He played a key role in developing numerous educational programs within the industry and was instrumental in establishing the first travel school in the Atlantic Provinces. The recipient will be an individual, a travel agency or a group of travel agencies that has demonstrated a significant commitment to professionalism, education and training and excellence in human resources management.

(6) Gerald Heifetz Trailblazer Award - This award was established in memory of Gerald Heifetz. He helped travel agents, business people and countless struggling immigrants through his law practice. He was instrumental in the foundation of ACTA and CITC and established many of the laws that currently govern the Canadian travel and airline industry.

The recipient will be an individual or organization who in the most recent year has had a significant and positive impact on the role, status and sustainability of the Canadian Travel Industry.

Criteria for each of the categories can be found here.

Businesses or individuals are encouraged to nominate themselves or others for consideration using the Nomination Form that can be submitted to and downloaded here. 

All awards require submission of a brief biography to support the nomination in order to demonstrate how the nominee meets the criteria for the award. Finalists from each region will then participate in the ACTA/Air Canada Awards where a judging panel appointed by ACTA will select one award-winner for each category.

Nominations will close on 22APR, 2019. Any questions can be addressed to Deanne Mills at

Bruce Parkinson

Bruce Parkinson Editor-in-Chief

An observer and analyst of the Canadian and international travel industries for over 25 years, Bruce uses the pre-dawn hours to prepare a daily news and information package to keep industry members up to date.

Leave a Comment...

(will not be published)