PATA Elects New Board, Including 2 Canadians

Open Jaw

The Pacific Asia Travel Association has announced the election of Andrew Jones, Guardian - Sanctuary Resorts, Hong Kong SAR, as Chairman of the Association’s Executive Board. He replaces Kevin B. Murphy who was elected Chairman in April 2015 and who remains a member of the Executive Board as Immediate Past Chairman.

During the PATA Annual Summit 2016 in Guam, PATA also elected a new Executive Board comprising:

  • Stephen Pearce, Vice President – Marketing at Tourism Vancouver;
  • Chris Bottrill, Dean at the Faculty of Global and Community Studies, School of Tourism Management - Capilano University
  • Sarah Mathews, Head of Destination Marketing Asia Pacific – TripAdvisor based in Hong Kong SAR;
  • Hiran Cooray, Chairman - Jetwing Hotels Sri Lanka;
  • Mark Clarkson, Director - Business Development Asia Pacific, OAG Singapore;
  • Anthony Lau, Executive Director - Hong Kong Tourism Board;
  • Vikram Madhok, Managing Director - Abercrombie & Kent India, Ltd.;
  • Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes, Director - Macao Government Tourism Office, Macao SAR;
  • Pilar Laguaña, Chairperson, PATA Micronesia Chapter, Guam;
  • Ben Montgomery, Director of Business Relations Management, Centara Hotels & Resorts, Thailand.

On the election of the new Executive Board PATA CEO Mario Hardy said, “PATA is committed to ensuring diversity, equality and empowerment in the workplace and I commend our members in electing a diverse Executive Board in representing them. It is important that we lead by example as we want to show our partners and industry colleagues what leadership is truly about and encourage them to follow suit. I congratulate our new Executive Board members on their appointments and I look forward to working with them in creating a better organisation for our members that can make an even greater impact on the travel and tourism industry.”

Leave a Comment...

(will not be published)