Top Performers & Star Suppliers: TravelOnly Celebrates Success At Awards Dinner

Anna Kroupina, Open Jaw
Untitled Document

"Travel is a people industry. You can have the best technology and platform, but without people, the human connection and human experience, you can never take your business to the next level."

That statement by TravelOnly president and CEO Gregory Luciani spoke volumes at the family-owned host agency's Achievements and Distinction Awards (TADA) 2020 which celebrated just that – people. 

TravelOnly president and CEO Greg Luciani

TravelOnly advisors, partners and affiliates gathered at the Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel to recognize the network's top performers and esteemed suppliers.

"Tonight is all about the agents, and I want to thank them for all the work that they do because without the agents, there is no TravelOnly. Tonight is really about celebrating success," Luciani told Open Jaw at the event, which hosted some 200 guests.

Agents at the photo booth.

"When we do an event like this, it helps agents network, meet our supplier partners, and meet agents that have been very successful that have been in their shoes," added Ian Elliott, TravelOnly’s vice-president of sales and marketing. "Five years ago, Pat [Probert] and Mary [de Almeida] were just starting out; now they are million-dollar sellers. Everyone that’s here started out somewhere and if you don’t come to these events, you don’t get the opportunity to meet these people and understand their stories."

L-R: TravelOnly's founder/chairman Patrick Luciani and his wife Ann, CFO;
Transat's Susan Kooiman; and TravelOnly president/CEO Gregory Luciani.

TravelOnly's preferred suppliers were out in full force that evening to support the family owned-and-operated agency, from TravelBrands' CEO Frank DeMarinis and Director of Sales Shannon Smith to WestJet's Kim Barbisan (BDM) and Sevi Anagnostis (Manager, Commercial Partners), Sunwing's Dave Wright (Director of Sales) and Lauren Lamonday (BDM), and many more industry players. 

Making the scene were also some newer partners for TravelOnly like MSC Cruises – the hosts of the 2020 Symposium at Sea in NOV aboard MSC Merviglia – Sandals and Beaches, and Savour Italy Tours.

There were also a few new faces representing some powerhouse brands, including newly appointed Director of Sales for Celebrity Cruises Allan Brooks, and AIC Hotel Group's newest BDMs Jasmine Grant and Stacy Niemi.

At a record 700 agents in its network, the company, having recently celebrated 45 years in business, had a lot of what Luciani calls its "best and brightest" advisors to celebrate. Last year, 125 agents joined the network. 

"I can’t even believe it," said Luciani. "It’s truly a testament to our family and how amazing the industry is, and it shows that there is a resurgence for the travel professional. We’re really coming back strong and people want to be a part of it."

Giselle Williams and CJ Smith with Unique Vacations Canada presenting the
award for Top Sandals Performer.

Here's a list of the TADA 2020 winners:

Air Canada Vacations 

  • Pauline Blacoe 


ACV's Aaron Crawford and Erminia Nigro with Top Producer Pauline Blacoe.


  • Brian Kendrick 

Savour Italy Tours

  • Lynn Bernier


WestJet Vacations

  • Barbara Scrocco & Robert Rizzo


Norwegian Cruise Line

  • Robert Pittelli



  • Amanda Beaver

Sunwing Vacations

  • Pauline Blacoe


Palace Resorts

  • Sarah Robinson



  • Pat Probert and Mary de Almeida



  • Dashnor Hasku and Bujar Zejnullahu    

TravelBrands' Frank DeMarinis and Shannon Smith with Top Producers
Dashnor Hasku and Bujar Zejnullahu

Celebrity Cruise Line

  • Pat Probert and Mary de Almeida



  • Carina Shortliffe


Royal Caribbean International 

  • Jennifer Arsenault


AIC Hotels

  •  Barbara Scrocco & Robert Rizzo


AIC's Sarah Smith, Jasmine Grant and Stacy Niemi with Top Producers
Barbara Scrocco & Robert Rizzo

Carnival Cruise Line 

  • Rachel Smith


Sandals and Beaches

  • Barbara Scrocco and Robert Rizzo


Princess Cruises

  • Don Terris

MSC Cruises 

  • Tammy Durocher


TravelOnly Supplier Awards

  • Top Tour Operator Partner – TravelBrands
  • Top Airline Partner – Transat
  • Top Contemporary Cruise Partner – Royal Caribbean International
  • Top Premium Cruise Partner – Celebrity Cruises
  • Top River Cruise Partner ­– AmaWaterways
  • Top Sales & Marketing Partner – Sunwing Vacations
  • BDM of the Year – Aaron Crawford, Air Canada Vacations
  • Partner of the Year – WestJet Airlines & WestJet Vacations

Gregory Luciani, president/CEO, TravelOnly and Frank DeMarinis, CEO, TravelBrands

TravelOnly Regional Awards – Top Producers

  • BC Region Top Producer 2019 – Kathleen Campbell
  • AB Region Top Producer 2019 – Jackie Lunn
  • Prairies Region Top Producer 2019 – Joanne Bold
  • ON Region Top Producer 2019 – Pat Probert & Mary de Almeida
  • QC Region Top Producer 2019 – Claudine Chayer
  • Atlantic Region Top Producer 2019 – Carina Shortliffe

TravelOnly President’s Club 2019

  • Pat Probert & Mary de Almeida
  • Dashnor Hasku & Bujar Zejnullahu
  • Barbara Scrocco & Robert Rizzo
  • Brian Kendrick
  • Pauline Blacoe
  • Holly McBean
  • David Smith
  • Kevin Visser
  • Carina Shortliffe
  • Helene Daigle-Robichaud
  • Amanda Beaver

The ACV, TravelBrands and TravelOnly teams recognizing Top President's Club
members Pat Probert & Mary de Almeida

TravelOnly Distinction Awards

  • Most Valuable Player 2019 – Pat Probert
  • Most Valuable Player 2019 – Mary de Almeida
  • Rising Star Award 2019 – Sarah Robinson
  • Rookie of the Year Award 2019 – Zackary Leblanc
Anna Kroupina

Anna Kroupina Journalist

Anna is OJ's newest member and she joins the team as a writer/reporter. She co-writes the daily news and covers events. Although she's new to the industry, pursuing a career path in travel/tourism has been a goal since her first family road trip to the Florida Keys sparked a desire to discover the world and this exhilarating, fast-paced industry

Leave a Comment...

(will not be published)